Invited Speakers





Branko Grisogono

Branko Grisogono is a full professor at the Department of Geophysics, Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb. His research interests include bouyancy waves, atmospheric turbulence, and other aspects of mesoscale dymanics, with particular emphasis on mountain and coastal meteorology. He has also studied wave drag over double bell-shaped ridges, applied WKB method in boundary layer studies, investigated sea-surface effects on bora wind, pure katabatic flow, and wave breaking with Coriolis effects in boundary layer dynamics. Prof. Grisogono has supervised/mentored ten PhD students, and served in more than 30 PhD committees in six different countries. He has taught a range of classes, including Mesoscale Meteorology, Numerical Modeling, Dynamic Meteorology, and Boundary Layer Meteorology. Curently, he is a member of so many committees and has to fill so many useless forms, that his own future research and teaching are in jeopardy.





Yuriy V. Pershin

Yuriy V. Pershin is an Associate Professor of Physics at the University of South Carolina, Columbia. His research interests are in the theory of electronic and transport properties of nanoscale systems, spintronics, and memory effects in nanostructures for applications in unconventional computing and future electronics. He is a fellow of the Institute of Physics and a senior member of IEEE. He has authored over 90 research papers and several reviews.





Vernesa Smolčić

Vernesa Smolčić is an assistant professor at the Physics Department, Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb (Croatia). Her main research area is (observational) astrophysics (survey science and multi-wavelength follow-up) applied to galaxy formation and evolution.





Daniel Denegri

Daniel Denegri was born in Split, Croatia, graduated in physics in Zagreb, and then moved to Johns Hopkins University, where he did his PhD in elementary particle physics. After that, he worked at CEA/Saclay and UA1, as a member of the group responsible for the discovery of W and Z bosons, for which prof. Rubbia has received a Nobel Prize. He has also played an important role in the design and testing of the LHC and CMS. He has been a long time physics coordinator of the CMS experiment, and is now coordinating modifications and adaptations of the CMS detector for the experiments which will be performed until 2022.





Latham Boyle

Latham Boyle is a faculty member at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Canada. He works on a number of different topics including gravitational waves, black holes, early universe cosmology, non-commutative geometry (and its application to standard-model and beyond-the-standard-model physics), exotic crystals and aperiodic tilings.





Philip Phillips

Professor Phillips is a solid state theorist working in the evolving hybrid field of string theory and condensed matter physics. His interests are primarily on strongly coupled systems and new superconductors. He has taught at MIT from 1984-1993 and the University of Illinois from 1993 to the present. He is a recipient of a 2015 Guggenheim Fellowship.





Davor Horvatić

Prof. Davor Horvatić is assistant professor at the Physics Department University of Zagreb. Main area of his research is physics of critical phenomena and quantum field theory. He is the author of thirty scientific papers and he organized local and international conferences in his research field. He collaborates with scientists in several European countries, while the main collaboration is in the field of Econophysics with American academic H. E. Stanley, one of the founders of this research area. Popularization of science is his favorite pass time with more than a hundred public appearances.

skolska knjiga